In Catholic-systemic schools such as Marist College North Shore, there are generally nine Key Learning Areas that students will study. Across each stage of learning, study options increase to tailor to student’s needs and interests.


Stage 4 (Years 7 & 8)

  • In Years 7 and 8 all students study a common course syllabus.
  • These common courses are: English, Religious Education, Mathematics, Science, History, Geography, Personal Development, Health & Physical Education, Technology, Music, Visual Arts and French.


Stage 5 (Years 9 & 10)

  • For Years 9 and 10, students study common courses and also choose two electives. When students are making their elective choices, it is crucial that they choose wisely and thoughtfully. Students should ask themselves these questions:
    • Which subjects will I enjoy most?
    • Which subjects will benefit me most?
    • In which subjects do I have the best possibility of excelling?
  • The common courses for Stage 5 are: English, Religious Education, Mathematics (students are guided into a course – 5.1, 5.2, 5.3), Science, Australian History, Australian Geography, Personal Development, Health & Physical Education


Elective courses offered

Commerce, Elective Geography, Elective History, French, Physical Activity & Sports Studies, Drama, Music, Photographic & Digital Media, Visual Arts, Design & Technology, Industrial Technology – Timber, Graphics Technology, Information & Software Technology and Food Technology and the Big History Project


Explanation of RoSA for Parents and Students

The Record of School Achievement (RoSA) is the new credential for students who leave school after Year 10 and before they receive their Higher School Certificate (HSC).

To qualify for the award of the RoSA a student must:

  1. Satisfactorily complete the minimum number and pattern of courses required by the NSW Board of Studies;
  2. Meet all the mandatory study requirements for Years 7 to 10 in each Key Learning Area,
  3. Have a satisfactory record of attendance and application.


A cumulative record of all academic achievement

The RoSA is designed to record and credential all secondary school students’ academic results up until the HSC. If a student leaves school before receiving a grade in Years 11 or 12 courses, their RoSA will record the courses they commenced. This measure acknowledges the fact that many students begin senior secondary study but leave school for employment or other training opportunities before receiving their HSC.


Literacy and numeracy tests

Students who leave school before they get their HSC will have the option to undertake online literacy and numeracy tests.


Stage 6 (Years 11 & 12)

  • In choosing subjects for Year 11 and 12, students should consider which subjects they are interested in, and can achieve in. 
  • Students must study a minimum of 12 units in Year 11 in order to complete the Preliminary Year. 
  • All students must have a minimum of 10 units in order to complete the HSC. These units must contain at least 6 units of Board Developed Courses. 
  • Students wishing to obtain an Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR) in order to attend University must study a minimum of ten units, Board Developed Courses (BDC) in Year 12. The calculation of your ten units can include one eligible VET subject. At Marist College North Shore, students must also study Religion by selecting the Board Developed Course (BDC) Studies of Religion (1 unit or 2 units) or the Board Endorsed Course (BEC) Religion, Catholic Studies.
  • 2 units of an English course is mandatory for all students completing the HSC.


Board Developed Courses on offer

Ancient History, Biology, Business Studies, Chemistry, Design & Technology, Drama, Economics, English (Standard), English (Advanced), English Extension I, English Extension II (by application), Food Technology, French Beginners, French Continuers, Geography, History Extension, Industrial Technology, Information Processes & Technology, Legal Studies, Mathematics General II, Mathematics, Mathematics Extension I, Mathematics Extension II, Modern History, Music I, Personal Development, Health & Physical Education, Physics, Senior Science, Society & Culture, Software Design and Development, Studies of Religion I, Studies of Religion II, Visual Arts

VET Framework Courses on offer: Construction, Entertainment and Hospitality

Board Endorsed Courses on offer: Catholic Studies, Photographic and Digital Media, Sport Lifestyle and Recreation and Visual Design.

We also provide opportunity for students to select the following Content Endorsed Courses: English Studies, Marine Studies (1 Unit), Mathematics General (1 Unit), Photography, Video & Digital Imaging (1 Unit), Sports, Lifestyle & Recreational Studies (1 Unit), Visual Design (1 Unit), Work Studies (1 Unit)


External Education

At Marist College North Shore, we offer extensive opportunities for students who choose to study subjects outside our offered curriculum or yearly timetable. 

Through our partnerships with Open High School, Sydney Distance Education High School and Saturday School of Community Languages, students are able choose from a variety of subjects that they can count towards their HSC credentials.